REVIEW AND EXPLANATION OF CALLS
Call Not Clearly Recognized
A player may require clarification forthwith if he is in doubt what call has been made.
Review of Auction during Auction Period
During the auction period, a player is entitled to have all previous calls restated when it is his turn to call, unless he is required by law to pass. Alerts should be included when responding to the request. A player may not ask for a partial review of previous calls and may not halt the review before it is completed.
Review after Final Pass
- After the final pass either defender has the right to ask if it is his opening lead (see Laws 47E and 41).
- Declarer* or either defender may, at his first turn to play, require all previous calls to be restated. (See Laws 41B and 41C). As in B the player may not ask for only a partial restatement or halt the review.
Who May Review the Auction
A request to have calls restated shall be responded to only by an opponent.
Correction of Error in Review
All players, including dummy or a player required by law to pass, are responsible for prompt correction of errors in restatement (see Law 12C1 when an uncorrected review causes damage).
Explanation of Calls
- During the auction and before the final pass any player may request**, at his own turn to call, an explanation of the opponents’ auction. He is entitled to know about calls actually made, about relevant alternative calls available that were not made, and about inferences from the choice of action where these are matters of partnership understanding. Except on the instruction of the Director replies should be given by the partner of the player who made the call in question. The partner of a player who asks a question may not ask a supplementary question until his turn to call or play. Law 16 may apply and the Regulating Authority may establish regulations for written explanations.
- After the final pass and throughout the play period, either defender at his own turn to play may request an explanation of the opposing auction. At his turn to play from his hand or from dummy declarer may request an explanation of a defender’s call or card play understandings. Explanations should be given on a like basis to 1 and by the partner of the player whose action is explained.
- Under 1 and 2 above a player may ask concerning a single call but Law 16B1 may apply.
- If a player realizes during the auction that his own explanation was erroneous or incomplete, he must summon the Director before the end of the Clarification Period and correct the misexplanation. He may elect to call the Director sooner, but he is under no obligation to do so. (For a correction during the play period, see Law 75B2.)
- The Director when summoned applies Law 21B or Law 40B3.
- A player whose partner has given a mistaken explanation may not correct the error during the auction, nor may he indicate in any manner that a mistake has been made. ‘Mistaken explanation’ here includes failure to alert or announce as regulations require or an alert (or an announcement) that regulations do not require.
- The player must call the Director and inform his opponents that, in his opinion, his partner’s explanation was erroneous (see Law 75B) but only at his first legal opportunity, which is:
- for a defender, at the end of the play.
- for declarer or dummy, after the final pass of the auction.
- If the Director judges that a player has based an action on misinformation given to him by an opponent see, as appropriate, Law 21 or Law 47E.
- A player may not ask a question if his sole purpose is to benefit partner.
- A player may not ask a question if his sole purpose is to elicit an incorrect response from an opponent.
- Except as the Regulating Authority allows, a player may not consult his own system card and notes during the auction period and play [but see Law 40B2(b)].
* Declarer’s first turn to play is from dummy unless accepting an opening lead out of turn.
** Unless that player is required by law to pass.