DOUBLE OR REDOUBLE OUT OF ROTATION
A double or redouble out of rotation may be accepted at the option of the opponent next in rotation (see Law 29A), except that an inadmissible double or redouble (see Law 36) may never be accepted. If the call out of rotation is not accepted it is cancelled and:
RHO’s Turn to Call
If a double or redouble out of rotation has been made at offender’s RHO’s turn to call, then:
- If offender’s RHO passes, offender must repeat his out-of-rotation double or redouble and there is no rectification unless the double or redouble is inadmissible, in which case Law 36 applies.
- If offender’s RHO bids, doubles or redoubles, the offender may in turn make any legal call:
- When the call is a comparable call (see Law 23A), there is no further rectification. Law 26B does not apply, but see Law 23C.
- When the call is not a comparable call (see Law 23A), offender’s partner must pass when next it is his turn to call. Laws 16C, 26B and 72C may apply.
Offender’s Partner’s Turn to Call
If a double or redouble out of rotation has been made when it was the offender’s partner’s turn to call, then:
- Offender’s partner may make any legal call, but Law 16C2 applies.
- Offender may make any legal call at his proper turn and the Director rules as in A2(a) or A2(b) above.
Later Calls at LHO’s Turn to Call
Later calls at LHO’s turn to call are treated as changes of call and Law 25 applies.